Manage versions of Workspace

When you are deploying Workspace in a large organization, it is often a requirement to control the version of Workspace that is available to certain categories of users.

Managing versions through desktop owner settings

In the absence of specific configuration, OpenFin RVM launches the most recent stable version of Workspace. You can manage the version of Workspace through an entry in desktop owner settings. This strategy enables you to determine what version of Workspace your end users receive and to control the roll out of new versions.

You can control the version of Workspace being run on users' desktops with an entry like the following.

{
  "desktopSettings": {
    "systemApps": {
        "workspace": {
          "version": "4.0.0"
     }
    }
  }
}

📘

Note

Prior to RVM version 6.4.1.1, the name of the main setting for system applications was openfinSystemApplications.

The RVM uses this entry to find the appropriate version of Workspace to launch. That means that the desktop owner chooses when to update the Workspace software, not application owners.

Multiple desktop owner settings files

Desktop owner settings can be as simple as a single static JSON file hosted somewhere on your network. However, to control what version different sets of users access, you might want to create multiple settings files.

Because desktop owner settings are configured through a registry key, you can have multiple static files, and direct an individual user to a specific one. For example, you can have a production version of Workspace for most of your users, a pre-production version for beta testers, and a third, developer version for your developers.

To deploy a new version of Workspace, you must do the following:

  1. Change the version number in the settings file that a given set of users access.
  2. Wait for (or force) the users to reboot. They will begin using the new version after reboot.

You can do the same steps to roll back to an earlier version of Workspace. In that case, it is a good idea to forcibly close Workspace, so that users revert to the older version immediately.


Did this page help you?